Skip to content

Cancer Council SA Board Chair Karlene Maywald

Board Chair

Committee memberships:
Chair, Nomination, Governance and Remuneration Committee
Member, Investment Committee

Karlene Maywald is a Non-Executive Director and our Chair with over 20 years of experience.

A respected small businessperson, Karlene entered parliament in 1997 and was the representative for the seat of Chaffey in the South Australian House of Assembly from October 1997 until March 2010. During her tenure, she held the position as South Australia’s Minister for Water and Security from 2004 to 2010.

Karlene has served on numerous national ministerial councils including the Murray Darling Basin Ministerial Council, the Natural Resource Management Ministerial Council, the Primary Industries Ministerial Council and the Regional Development Ministerial Council.

Karlene also holds numerous executive positions, including the Chair of the International Centre for Excellence Water Resources Management, Chair of ModMed and a Director of the Goyder Institute.